Product Review - UltraForge Plague Demon

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Product Review - UltraForge Plague Demon

Post  ScottRadom on Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:40 pm

So I found a pretty cool model I could use for a Nurgle Demon on the net. It's made by Ultraforge miniatures, a Canadian home based mini company that sculpts their stuff at home and has them cast in the States. My mini was 69$ + 8$ shipping. So....

First off ordering was a fantastic experience. I had a few questions regarding size of the model etc. and they were answered instantly by one of the two owner/operators. Service was fantastic and I got my order in about a week.

The model is made out of resin. I'm no expert but as far as I've dealt with it there seems to be two types of resin used in terrain and stuff. The smooth shiny kind and the rough textured kind. This is the smooth kind which I have had some trouble with paint adhering to the model in the past. So I washed the model real thoroughly in dish soap and water.

I assembled it using JB Kwik Weld (real good quick setting two part epoxy. Pinning is for sucka's!) for the big joins and Zap-a-gap CA (High quality super glue). There was hardly any mold line stuff to take off but I used a file for what little there was. I also added a nurgling left over from something to the base to help tie the model into the rest of my existing army. All the pieces fit nicely with only a small gap where the belly meets the waistline on the models right side. I doubt it'll be noticeable after priming. All in all from opening the pack to having the model ready for primer it was about 1hr spent so far.