Yeoman Warden
1 Trebuchet

Last edited by Pud on Sun Jun 13, 2010 2:12 pm; edited 1 time in total

Pud

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pud's Bretonnian Army

Post  squalie on Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:40 am

It's cool to see you use the Hippogryph! I have very little experience with the Brett's so Nathan should be along any moment...

squalie

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  nathanr on Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:57 am

The grail vow is great on your two independant characters, it ensures you never fail a charge due to fear and you'll never panic either. It is actually less useful on your hippogriff character since he already causes terror so he doesn't need the vow for fear protection. If you want to use the points elsewhere you can always drop his vow.

As for the core, I like your choices. You should add 2 knights errant so you have a full lance formation of 9. The bowmen don't need armour and the standard is only useful if you are using a rule where only units with banners can capture an objective or table quarter. Right there you have 22 points (a knight). The men at arms are useful but don't expect good things from them. I would definitely give your damsel a horse and put her into a unit of knights. Not only will she be more protected, she will also give the unit magic resistance 1. Other than that I think its a solid, balanced list.

Edit: As for tactics, I'd say pair a unit of knights of the realm with the grail knights and the other unit with the knights errant and use them to charge together into enemy units. The knights errant are immune to fear and terror on the charge and the grail knights are immune to psychology so even if your knights of the realm fail to charge due to fear, you will still be getting in with at least one unit so you don't need to worry as much about being charged yourself.