non-GW Custom

View previous topic View next topic Go down

non-GW Custom

Post  epengr on Tue May 04, 2010 8:14 pm

Hello all,

I'm looking to get into WFB - I was into 40k a decade ago and started into WFB, but I was a broke student and I tried to do it on the cheap to play with friends (sadly, I'm STILL a student...).

Anyways, I thought I'd post some of my "custom" figs to see if any of them wouldn't be laughed off the table here... Some are BAD, I know, some are pretty good though. Pretty much everything needs some detailing and paint, so you'll have to use your imagination...

So, WISIWYG.. Waht do you see? What would I get Wink

Easy one first - would people generally be okay with pretending that short bowws are basically the same as blow pipes on skink skirmishers? I'm stuck with all old "Lizardmen of the Southlands":

These would be a lot of work, but a unit would look pretty good with paint.

Temple Gaurds:

I think these are awesome, and with paint they'd look good. Still old style Salimander, but... Razordon's new though!

I think the size is about right - not too bad? Stegadon:

Now I'm starting to scrap the bottom of the barrel, Teradons:

Worse yet? Kroxigors!:

Last, and certainly least, the Mage-Preist...

But seriously, I have a 5th ed Slann that I'll be modding to the new floaty palequin style, so feel free to laugh your butt of at this one Smile.

So? Would anyone allow any of these on their table? In the league?

I plan to slowly build a legit force, but since I've been a student for over a decade it will take time...

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: non-GW Custom

Post  ScottRadom on Tue May 04, 2010 8:47 pm

I'll be honest. I think the plastic toy things really, really detract from my personal enjoyment of the hobby. I am not super big on massive proxies and the like. I would...

-reccomend smaller size games while building a force
-Making VERY sure the opponent is okay with the proxies.