spellcaster lore

View previous topic View next topic Go down

spellcaster lore

Post  Kuyp on Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:07 am

a question for you guys that i don't really know the answer to.

Q: a spellcaster is normally allowed to pick what lore they will generate spells from, what happens if they have the loremaster (other) rule. do they only get spells from the (other) lore, ie are they forced to use that lore only even though they are given a choice ? or are they allowed to generate spells from their chosen lore in addition to knowing all the spells from the (other) lore?

I hope that makes sense ....

Kuyp

Posts : 966
Join date : 2008-11-30
Age : 26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: spellcaster lore

Post  Carson on Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:35 am

I would assume you could only know your loremaster spells......but I'm probably wrong, like usual.

_________________
What is best in life?
Crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and hear the lamentations of thier women.

Carson
Admin

Posts : 2853
Join date : 2008-04-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: spellcaster lore

Post  bluepeople on Thu Apr 03, 2014 1:09 am

do you have an example?

bluepeople

Posts : 178
Join date : 2013-08-08
Age : 31
Location : Moose Jaw

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: spellcaster lore

Post  Kuyp on Thu Apr 03, 2014 8:02 am

i was looking in the lizard men book the other day and the focus of mystery diciple says...
"the slann mage priest has the loremaster( lore of high magic) special rule. this cannot be combined with wandering deliberations"

so what i was wondering does him gaining that rule now mean that he does not get to pick his lore as per normal?

Kuyp

Posts : 966
Join date : 2008-11-30
Age : 26
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: spellcaster lore

Post  nathanr on Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:20 am

For those of us not familiar with the lizardman book, what does wandering deliberations do?

nathanr

Posts : 4521
Join date : 2008-06-10
Age : 35
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: spellcaster lore

Post  decker_cky on Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:44 am

I believe wandering deliberations is the 'wizard knows all signature spells' upgrade.

Storms of magic has an example on the exalted lord of change, which is loremaster(daemon lore of tzeentch), but can choose lore of metal or daemon lore of tzeentch.

My instinct: You can take other lores, but then loremaster does nothing.

decker_cky

Posts : 254
Join date : 2011-08-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: spellcaster lore

Post  nathanr on Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:19 am

If the loremaster ability is an upgrade I would say that you'd be restricted to those spells if you take that upgrade. If it is an innate ability then I don't know.

nathanr

Posts : 4521
Join date : 2008-06-10
Age : 35
Location : Saskatoon

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: spellcaster lore

Post  Galadros on Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:52 am

The quick answer is NO. If you choose to be a loremaster, you roll for nothing. If you want to choose your lore, then don't choose the loremaster rule.

Galadros

Posts : 219
Join date : 2008-07-06
Age : 44
Location : Edmonton

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: spellcaster lore

Post  decker_cky on Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:58 am

Ok, checked the rulebook to verify:

"A Wizard with the Loremaster special rule knows all the spells from his chosen lore[...]. The lore in question is normally given in brackets as part of the Loremaster special rule."

Loremaster forces you to have chosen the lore in brackets.

decker_cky

Posts : 254
Join date : 2011-08-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: spellcaster lore

Post  Sponsored content Today at 6:05 pm


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum