Feathered Things!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Feathered Things!

Post  Kal on Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:34 am

Ok i should really just start one thread called Sean needs freakin help at painting. but this time! THIS TIME! i need to know what colors and how does one paint stuff like Pegasuses...s and Demi gryphs. the feathery parts mostly. what paint colours should i buy? Also whats a good way to colour metal. can i paint ironbelcher and then wash it with a coloured wash? thanks

Kal

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Feathered Things!

Post  Planes on Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:15 am

I can't speak much about feathers, as that's something I'm going to have to learn how to deal with in the next year or so.

Metallics, on the other hand, I have some experience with. There's a few different ways you can tackle colouring metals, depending on how much colour you want.

The first is to blend the colour straight into the metal you're using as a base. I'd recommend using one of the purer metals (such as Runefang Steel) as Leadbeltcher is already blended in with black. If you need to bring it back down after applying it, you can always hit it with a wash of Nuln Oil.

If you're looking for just a touch, then a wash would probably be the way to go, though you'll see a lot more of the effect down in the nooks and crannies than on the surface itself.

A middle ground between these two would be to bust out a transparent paint, such as one offered from this line: https://www.currys.com/catalogpc.htm?CATEGORY=GOLDEN_HIGH_FLOW_ACRYLIC
I've found they they apply nice and evenly while still letting the layer underneath show through. It doesn't run away into all the little corners and cracks on you, leaving you plenty of room to work with.

Planes

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  decker_cky on Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:41 am